Week Two: Manifest

Athena A Zeng
2 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

This week, we were asked to develop a data visualization concept that uses an ecological metaphor based on the bioregion in which we are working from. I am working from the Eastern Ozark Border ecoregion, which relates to my upbringing in St. Louis County, MO.

I want to note that I have been working on finding a different data source. Last week, I was a little confused at the scope of the assignment, but now I have a much better idea of what it is. I generally know I want to focus on wealth disparity in Missouri/St. Louis, but I am having a hard time gathering the data necessary. A lot of the information is publicized in the form of PDF reports, but I want to find or consolidate that information in a more manipulatable format.

The metaphor I am choosing to explore is kind of a combination of cycles and distribution. I used the northern cardinal, one of the native birds in this eco region, as inspiration. According to allaboutbirds.org:

“Northern Cardinals tend to sit low in shrubs and trees or forage on or near the ground, often in pairs. They are common at bird feeders but may be inconspicuous away from them, at least until you learn their loud, metallic chip note.”

This characteristic notes that there are moments of peace and blending in in contrast with other moments of loud, shrill noise. I think this is a good metaphor to describe some of the racial inequity in St. Louis, a city that has a long history of wealth disparity, as evident through the Delmar Divide.

Northern cardinal and some screech-y branch like objects

I like the idea of cardinals in the center, initially close together, but pushed further and further apart from each other as wealth inequality widens. They are pushed apart by this screechy, metallic branching that further branches out as the wealth gap grows (hence creating an actual divide/gap between the birds which are a symbol of St. Louis pride). I also think it is an interesting metaphor to explore because the allaboutbirds quote mentions how cardinals can be inconspicious until they are heard making loud screech noises, and this is fairly reflected in the fact that it is pretty easy to be unaware of growing wealth disparities in St. Louis, depending on your background.

Also, something to consider is the various ways in which wealth inequality is measured. It may not always be evident through just income, but also may be evident through factors like homelessness, unemployment, and property ownership.

Some sources I have been exploring:

--

--